top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCycleHealth

Let's Take This Journey TOGETHER

Updated: Jun 12, 2018

As CycleHealth welcomes their new interns, we also want to welcome you to read a blog about what we are up to at CycleHealth.


Meet Sara, Mackenzie and Kendall

Hello readers! As CycleHealth starts their very own blog, I want to thank you for reading along, we are excited that you are here. Our blog will be focused on kids health and how as a family you can grow to be active and adventurous. This will be a great blog to read to hear some personal stories, get some advice and get motivated. For the Summer of 2018 CycleHealth is welcoming three new interns: Kendall, Mackenzie and Sara. Keep reading to get to know them in this post.


Kendall. My name is Kendall and I am going into my final year at the University of St. Thomas. I am a Public Health major and I am part of the Track and Field team at UST, where I pole vault. I belong to four clubs on campus which are: Cru, Public Health Club, Health and Human Performance Club, and the Special Olympics Club. I have always loved being active, growing up I played four sports and I always found so much joy in that. I want to help other people find their joy in being active. This is my first year interning with CycleHealth and I am beyond excited. I learned about CycleHealth when co-founders Betsy and Tony came to speak at a club I am apart of. The mission of their company immediately stood out to me. They are doing something so unique and I knew right away that I wanted to be a part of their journey. I have always loved working with kids and trying to help them grow into the best they can be. I have heard so many inspirational stories about kids who have finished the races. I am very excited for the upcoming summer BreakAway Kids Tri. I think it will be so rewarding for us to see the kids cross the finish line and feel successful.


Sara. My name is Sara Ness. I am a junior at the University of St. Thomas with an exercise science major and psychology minor. I am on the cross country and track and field teams at St. Thomas, and love to be outside whether it’s for running or just exploring nature. My passion for exercise, adventure, and health as a whole led me to decide to be an intern for CycleHealth this summer. I chose to work with CycleHealth because of their emphasis on not only physical health, but also mental and spiritual health in the aspects of adventure and helping others in need. I am inspired by the amount of excitement and creativity that they bring to the issue of kids and family health in America, and I am very excited to see how big of a difference we can make toward solving this problem, even in just a short amount of time. I am also eager to experience the BreakAway Kids Tri in August after working towards this all summer, and seeing our work pay off for the kids. Being able to see the excitement and sense of accomplishment in the kids after finishing their triathlon, and the lifelong changes that they make is ultimately the part of the summer that is the most rewarding, and makes the work leading up to it all worth it.


Mackenzie. My name is Mackenzie O’Connell and I am one of the other CycleHealth Interns for the summer. I am 20 years old and from Cedarburg, Wisconsin, a suburb about 25 minutes north of Milwaukee. I am going to be a junior in the Fall at the University of St. Thomas and am majoring in Exercise Science with a focus in Pre-Medicine as my goal is to go to medical school after I finish my undergraduate degree. I was excited to work with CycleHealth this summer because throughout my life I have always loved being active. I’ve played soccer since the age of 4, run Cross Country at UST, and am always up for hike, bike ride or any other activity that gets me outside and having fun. Betsy and Tony came in to talk about CycleHealth to a club that I am a part of on campus. After hearing about how the company’s goal is to have kids be able to power their own wellness and be more active, get outside and be adventurous all the while instilling the value of serving others, I instantly knew this was a group I wanted to be a part of. This summer, I am very excited to work at the BreakAway Kids Tri, learn as much as I can from Betsy and Tony as they are such awesome people, and to work to help bring CycleHealth to kids outside of the Twin Cities.

27 views0 comments
bottom of page